Skip to content

The Puppy Place Books

June 17, 2008

Do you love dogs? Do you enjoy short, sweet books that will give you the warm fuzzies?

Scholastic books has in paperback a series called The Puppy Place — Where every puppy finds a home by Ellen Miles. Each book features a different dog: Black lab, golden retriever, Jack Russell terrier, German shepherds, and mutts to name a few and how the Peterson family helps these dogs in need.

Last night I read Pugsley about a (yes, you guessed it) PUG! Pugsley goes to doggy day care but he is a very naughty puppy. Who will take Pugsley in when his owners decide to give him up because they can’t handle him? And can fourth-grader Lizzie Peterson turn Pugsley into a dog someone would want in their home? I enjoyed reading this well written chapter book for any age.

Here is a picture of my pug, Cookie, when she was a puppy. She was so tiny, she could lay across the top of my shoulder and rest her head on my neck when we slept at night. She was very sick for awhile when we brought her home and when she couldn’t breathe at night, I would massage her ribs to help her. That was why she laid near my face. Isn’t she the cutest little puglet?

 

 

This is another favorite picture of Cookie because it shows her perfectly curled tail. If you touch her tail at all, she will turn her face to it and make sure it stays curled!

 

 Tell me which of The Puppy Place books are your favorites and why?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2008 6:02 pm

    Jennifer –
    Thanks for blogging about my books! I’m glad you like them. They are a lot of fun to write since I’m a huge dog lover. I’d be honored if you’d add my website to your Writers list.
    Best,
    Ellen

  2. January 10, 2009 12:25 am

    Can you please make a Puggle?
    Pleeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaassssssssseeeeeeeeeee?

  3. sandrar permalink
    September 10, 2009 4:41 pm

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

  4. Maker permalink
    February 25, 2010 10:53 pm

    My son, Dawson and I are reading the entire series of the puppy place and we love them!!! We own a springer spaniel, named Toby and he is the highlight of our family.

    Do you know the order that the books go in? My son would like to be able to buy the books in the right order but not all of the books are numbered. If you could help us I would appreciate it.

    • journeybooks permalink*
      March 3, 2010 10:18 pm

      Hi- Ellen Miles the author of Puppy Place books has a website and you can follow the link through my post. On her website in About Me, she has a link to contact her via an email address: dearellenmiles@earthlink.net.
      I would have Dawson contact Ellen himself and ask her.
      Sorry, but I don’t know the order of the books.
      Tell Dawson I said to keep reading!!!
      Jennifer

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

